Mac & Cheese

I recently did a week-long cleanse to kick off the new year healthy, especially after stuffing my face for 2 weeks over Christmas. To end my cleanse, I thought I would indulge in a comfort food, which looking back seems like I only ruined what I accomplished that week. Was it worth it? Try this Mac & Cheese and you will see that it definitely was!

Mac & Cheese has got to be one of my all-time favourite foods. What’s not to like? It’s creamy, cheesy, salty and just delicious! We tend to make this when we’re away skiing for a weekend as it’s a great meal to warm up to after a day on the hill and makes for excellent leftovers. My friend Ben calls it “crack and cheese” – he ate 3 large bowls full at my house one night! Try it out and let me know what you think!

Mac & Cheese

Kosher Salt
1 pound elbow macaroni
1 quart of milk (2% is best, 1% if you want it a bit “lighter – ya right)
6 Tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
12 ounces Gruyère cheese grated
8 ounces sharp Cheddar Cheese grated
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook macaroni in salted water according to directions on package.

Meanwhile, heat milk in saucepan but do not boil. Melt butter in a large pot (enough to hold all the macaroni and sauce) and add in flour. Cook over low heat for 2 minutes, stirring with a whisk. While whisking, add the hot milk and cook for a minute or two until thickened and smooth. Take off the heat and add the Gruyère, cheddar, pepper, nutmeg and salt to taste. Add the macaroni and stir well. Pour into a 3 quart baking dish. Bake for about 30-35 minutes or until sauce is bubbly.

I like to add extra grated cheese on top – it gets a bit crunchy when it’s all cooked.

This recipe also freezes really well! Last time I made it, I divided it into 3 tinfoil disposable cake pans and froze 2 of them. A great way to have dinner ready in a hurry!

Enjoy! ~ Brianna

Mac & Cheese

One thought on “Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

